In the face of another tragedy

Yesterday, three blasts went off in the city of Boston. Many were injured; 3 were killed, including a little boy.

Words cannot express the extent of the pain and the suffering the people of the city and of this country have been forced to endure over the past two days.

Perhaps the saddest thought (if such a thing is possible), at times like these, is the recognition of the grim truth that this kind of devastation is nothing new–that, at any given time, one can point at a spot on the globe where scores of people have just recently been faced with tragedy.

With my utmost respect for those lost and for those suffering, I have no more words of my own for this post; instead, I have chosen for tonight some more meaningful, more appropriate ones: verses that have sprung, time and time again, from the lips of thousands of passionate, undeterred spirits.

With hope that all will find some source of comfort after times of darkness, and that, some day, this kind of suffering will only be known as a distant shadow of the past:

“We shall overcome, we shall overcome,
We shall overcome someday;
Oh, deep in my heart, I do believe,
We shall overcome someday.

We are not afraid, we are not afraid,
We are not afraid today;
Oh, deep in my heart, I do believe,
We are not afraid today.

We shall live in peace, we shall live in peace,
We shall live in peace someday;
Oh, deep in my heart, I do believe,
We shall live in peace someday.”

Leave a Reply

